New EMBO member – Congratulations to ReproUnion Board Member Eva Hoffmann

Jul 9, 2020

Eva Hoffmann is one of the 63 leading scientists from 25 countries, who have been bestowed the lifetime honour of EMBO Membership in recognition of their remarkable research achievements. This was announced on the 7th of July by EMBO, the European Molecular Biology Organization that promotes excellence in the life sciences in Europe and beyond.

“The new Members have contributed to the success of life science research in Europe and around the world,” said EMBO Director Maria Leptin. “As EMBO Members they can help to shape the future through EMBO’s work to support talented researchers, bring ideas together, and promote an international research environment conducive to excellent science.”

EMBO helps to shape science policy by seeking input and feedback from their community of over 1800 leading researchers, and by following closely the trends in science. EMBO’s major goals are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a research environment, where scientists can achieve their best work.

“I look forward to support EMBO’s work and I see clear synergies with what ReproUnion is working to achieve within Reproductive Health. The ReproUnion network is instrumental in providing expertise and promoting collaborations that are mutually beneficial for scientists and clinicians. This also contributes to building the next generation of reproductive scientists,” says Eva Hoffmann, member of ReproUnion’s Executive Board and Professor at the University of Copenhagen, Center for Chromosome Stability.

The new EMBO Members join a growing list of renowned researchers elected before them, which includes 88 Nobel laureates. They carry out research across a broad range of life science disciplines, including neuroscience, plant biology, cell biology, signal transduction, development, molecular medicine, immunology, and many more.

Here you can find the full press release from EMBO, listing the new honorary members.